Cyprus

['saıprəs] n eeoep.

1. о-в Кипр

2. Кипр (государство) Republic of Cyprus - Республика Кипр

Cyprus [Cyprus] BrE NAmE

Oxford Advanced Learners Dictionary 8th Ed.

an island in the Mediterranean Sea which became a ↑colony of Britain in 1914. Because there has been a lot of tension between the Greek and Turkish communities on the island, United Nations soldiers have been there since 1964 to keep the peace.

Cyprus

Cyprus /'saipres/ BrE AmE

Longman DOCE 5th Ed. (En-En)

a large island in the east Mediterranean Sea. Population: 788,457 (2007). Capital: Nicosia. Cyprus has been divided into two parts since Turkey [†]invaded (*=entered the country using military force*) the north in 1974. The Greek Cypriots live in the southern two thirds of the island, and the Turkish Cypriots live in the northern third. Since 1983 the area held by the Turks has called itself the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus, but only Turkey officially recognizes it as a country. Cyprus joined the EU in 2004.