Australia Apresyan (En-Ru)

[ɔ:'streiliə] *п геогр.* Австралия

Commonwealth of Australia - Австралийский Союз

Australia

Oxford Advanced Learners Dictionary 8th Ed.

Australia [Australia] BrE NAmE

a large island country and continent in the south-west Pacific Ocean. Its capital city is Canberra and its official language is English. The first inhabitants of Australia were the Aborigines, who now form only about 1.5% of the population. In 1770 the country was visited by Captain James Cook, and in the 18th and 19th centuries it was used by the British as a place to send criminals. Many of Australia's present inhabitants are descended from British people. It is now independent from Britain, although it remains a member of the Commonwealth. Most of the population live on or near the coast in the east and south of the country, and there are large areas in the west, north and centre of the country that have very few inhabitants. The climate is generally warm. Australian culture is popular in Britain. A number of Australian programmes, including ↑soap operas such as ↑Neighbours, appear regularly on British television. A popular informal name for Australia is 'Down Under'.

See also ↑Botany Bay

Australia

Longman DOCE 5th Ed. (En-En)

Australia /p'streɪliə \$ ɔ -,a -, BrE AmE

a large island between the Indian Ocean and the southern Pacific Ocean, which is both a country and a †continent (=one of the seven main areas of land on the earth) and part of the Pacific Rim. Population: 20,434,176 (2007). Capital: Canberra. Australia is a member of the British Commonwealth, and used to have close connections with the UK because the families of many Australians originally came from Britain and Ireland. More recently, many Australian citizens came from southern Europe and east Asia. The people who have lived in Australia since before Europeans arrived there are called the Aboriginal people.